Reducing harm caused by alcohol


Alison Douglas

Alison Douglas, Chief Executive of Alcohol Focus Scotland

Alison joined AFS in December 2015.  Her commitment to and experience of preventing and reducing alcohol harm stems from her time as Head of Alcohol Policy and Delivery at Scottish Government from 2007 to 2012. In this capacity Alison was responsible for developing and implementing Scotland’s national alcohol strategy, "Changing Scotland's Relationship with Alcohol".

Alison previously worked as a policy adviser to Scottish Ministers, advising on issues ranging from prostitution, to GM crops, and the marine environment. From April 2012 until she joined AFS she was Head of Public Bodies and Public Service Reform with responsibility for advising Ministers on reform and ensuring the effectiveness of public bodies.

Before joining Scottish Government, Alison worked for the UK Research Councils, including seven years in their European Office in Brussels, latterly as Director.

She has served as a member of Edinburgh’s Children’s Panel and is a former Poverty Truth Commissioner. 

Alcohol Focus Scotland team

  • Laura Mahon is Deputy Chief Executive of Alcohol Focus Scotland.
  • Gemma Crompton is Policy and Public Affairs Manager (currently on maternity leave).

The AFS team work across policy, communications, learning and development, income generation and administration.

Alcohol Focus Scotland Board

Mary Cuthbert

Mary Cuthbert OBE, Chair of Alcohol Focus Scotland

A career civil servant with the Scottish Government for nearly 40 years, Mary Cuthbert has extensive experience of public policy making and delivery gained across a range of Departments and on secondment to external agencies. Ultimately, she was head of Alcohol, Tobacco and Sexual Health Policy within the CMO and Public Health Directorate. During her 14 years in the Directorate, Mary was at the forefront of a number of key public health policy and legislative developments in HIV/AIDS; sexual health; drugs misuse; alcohol; and tobacco. This included the ban on smoking in public places and alcohol minimum pricing. A keen advocate of the voluntary sector, Mary is also currently on the Board of Directors of ASH Scotland and Young Scot. Mary was awarded an OBE in 2009.

  • Tom Bennett is the Recovery Development Team Leader in Forth Valley and North Lanarkshire, and is a member of two Alcohol & Drug Partnerships.
  • Professor Jeff Collin is Professor of Global Health Policy at the University of Edinburgh.
  • Dr Nathan Critchlow is a researcher at the Institute for Social Marketing, University of Stirling. His primary research interests are alcohol and tobacco marketing.
  • Hilary Davison was Director of Guidance and Standards at Healthcare Improvement Scotland and is now a Master Trainer supporting individuals to improve their physical and mental wellbeing.
  • Fiona Doig is the Strategic Lead for Borders Alcohol and Drugs Partnership and Health Improvement.
  • Andrew Fraser is Head of Democratic Services at North Ayrshire Council.
  • Neil Hunter became Principal Reporter/Chief Executive of the Scottish Children’s Reporter Administration in April 2011. He is currently a member of the Ministerial ‘Partnership for Action on Drugs in Scotland’.  
  • Jacqui McCarrell is a Chartered Accountant with SRG LLP.
  • Allan Mooney is the Head of Learning & Development within Forestry and Land Scotland and a lecturer with Open University specialising in Leadership and Business.
  • Dr Drew Walker is Director of Public Health for NHS Tayside and Chair of Dundee Alcohol & Drug Partnership.